School Again!

Yesterday I had my second day of Canine Good Citizen school. I was pretty excited when got there because I remembered exactly where we were and I couldn’t wait to see all of my friends and get some more delicious hot dog treats (D.H.D.T.s). I think getting really excited is the best! But my mom doesn’t seem to like it as much as I do. My mom says that I am entering my adolescent phase (I’m not sure what that means) and she says that it is a good thing I am cute sometimes.

The first thing we did in class was to walk down these stairs and wait for our people to go first. I didn’t really get it at the beginning, but we kept working on it and I finally figured out that going in front of my mom = turning around, but staying next to my mom = D.H.D.T.s, which I love way more than turning around.

Then I got a little crazy. Even though I know that I am not supposed to drag people around like I’m a sled dog, some smells are just too hard to ignore! And then my dad disappeared for a while and that made me really worried. And we went into this new field with really good grass — you know the really squishy, puffy kind that is so good to roll in and that really holds onto all the smells the other dogs leave behind?? I’m getting excited just thinking about it!

I guess I got a little too wild because I had to wear my Gentle Leader for a while. That makes me calm down because I kind of hate having that thing on my face and it bugs me even more if I am acting wild. Once I made myself pay attention to my mom instead of all the cool new stuff, I found out that it wasn’t as hard as I thought. And then my mom took the face torture device off! Yay!

                  

After that I got so many D.H.D.T.s. We did this thing where all of the dogs had to walk a special pattern together and stay right next to our people the whole time. I did really good.

Then we played this harder game where I had to walk around and around in a circle while my friend Koa sat in the middle of it. Koa doesn’t really like me that much, but I really like him. We even had a sleep over once! Anyway, even though we got really close to him, I still kept paying attention to my mom. She seemed extra happy about that.

The last game we played was the hardest one of all. I had to walk in between my dad, who was sitting on the ground, which is one of the funnest things people do, and Smudge, who is the coolest dog I know. I had to concentrate really hard on those D.H.D.T.s, but I walked through with out being wild every single time! I even sat in the middle of my dad and Smudge and kept watching my mom (who I began to think of as a D.H.D.T. dispenser). She said that I was a really good Remy and she gave me a lot of pets.

After class was over I got to hang out in my crate and watch the more grown dogs do something called rally obedience for a while. They were really good! I think that when I am grown up I will be that good too…especially if there are D.H.D.T.s involved.

 

 

Leave a Comment

