Who Is a Canine Good Citizen?

I am! I am! I really did it! Okay, so it took two tries, but I passed my Canine Good Citizen test yesterday! Now I am ready to be a serious dog.

On Saturday I did pretty well. Actually, mom said I did great. The only tiny problem was that when mom had a greet a stranger she forgot to tell me stay, so I didn’t think it would be a problem if I did just a tiny little jump while they shook hands. It was really just a tiny one. In the air too, not even on anyone. And I sat nicely when we went through it again, but this test is tough and you can’t make any mistakes, not even a little one.

Luckily we had a chance to take it again the very next day. This time we went to a park I had never been to before that was in the middle of the big shopping place with kids running all around and dogs playing with tennis balls and babies wearing hats that looked like bear faces! There were so many exciting things to look at!

It’s a good thing we got there early and walked around playing games. Mom also brought an extra special kind of treat, which I have never had before, called bacon. Mom mixed it in with my kibble so that all the treats tasted of this delicious stuff…it is even more delicious than hot dogs! Even though we couldn’t use any treats for the actual test, this bacon stuff really helped me to focus on mom while we were getting ready. I wonder if I will ever get such a delicious thing again?

By the time the test got started, I was ready! And I passed every single part! Mom was so excited. She gave me like a billion pets and extra bacon treats and said she was really proud. And I finally got to play with Smudge! He is only about the coolest dog I ever met. Even though we go on walks together a lot, I have never gotten to play with him before, but I have dreams about it almost every day. It was so much fun! Don’t you think he looks like Blueberry?Β ExceptΒ lighter…

My friend Smudge πŸ™‚

 

 

I was a very happy pup when we got in the car to go home.

 

But I was also exhausted; it only took about two seconds for me to fall fast asleep. I had some really good dreams about bacon and playing with my friends!

I wonder what mom will want to work on next?

 

58 thoughts on “Who Is a Canine Good Citizen?

  1. YAY!!!!! We all knew you’d do it Remy! Congratulations!!! Your friend Smudge is a cool looking doggy. I’m glad you have lots of good friends……you do look quite tired on the way home from your test but hopefully your nap continued when you got home……bacon? Did you say BACON? It’s one of my mostest FAVORITEST things in the universe!!

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  2. Congratulations on being a Canine Good Citizen! I’m sure you were just exhausted. We think your friend Smudge is a handsome dog. The human feels the same way about bacon, too πŸ™‚

  3. Oh that is so exciting. A gigantic congrats to you Remy. WE knew you could do it. You should be very proud of yourself. That is hard test. Glad Mom brought some really good treats. Now you just need to keep practicing so you can go make use of that Good Citizens award and maybe do some therapy work. Wouldn’t that be fun.
    Take care.

    • It would be fun! Mom says maybe when I am older and a little less energetic we might work on my becoming a therapy dog. I think I would love it…maybe just a little too much right now πŸ™‚

  4. Congratulations! Great work! You and your human should be very proud. As for BACON!! I luvluvluv bacon. Hitch doesn’t seem to care for it, but it’s the one treat I actually ask for. Did you know when the boy/man order pizza that they also order BACON on the side! I love our boy/man.

    Congrats again!
    Purrs to you!
    Mistletoe

  5. 2 paws up Remy! We’ll have to remember bacon if we every go for our CGC test:D

    Sounds like you had a great time showing them how good you are. I love your head tilt with your buddy, Smudge!

    • Well mom and dad have been working on training with me since the day they brought me home six months ago. But we started working extra hard on the CGC test about 6 weeks ago. We took a class with my friend David who is very good at training pups πŸ™‚

  6. Way to go, Remy! You should be super proud of yourself! I’ve actually been thinking about getting my Remy prepped for doing his CGC, but haven’t had a chance to yet. Maybe one day you two will be CGC Remy Squared.

  7. Woohoo!! That’s SO awesome!! I think you need bacon EVERY day for at least a month now!! Tee Hee

    Great job buddy,

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

Leave a Comment

