Today Is My First Gotcha Day!

It’s my Gotcha Day! My very first one!! One year ago mom brought me home from the shelter and my whole life changed. And mom and dad got me some cool new things from the big pet expo last weekend to celebrate 😀 I got a new Simply Fido bear stuffy, an Orbee-Tuff Mazee, a Bionic Stuffer, and some grass-fed bison trachea. Yummy!

1stGotchaDay1

I’d be happier without this silly hat 😉

1stGotchaDay2

What should I play with first??

Now I am going to let my mom take over, just this once. After all, I’ve got some trachea to chew!

1stGotchaDay3

It hardly seems as though a whole year could have passed since we brought our pup home, but what a wonderful year it has been. I’d met hundreds and hundreds of dogs while working at the shelter. I’m not even sure exactly what it was about Remy that made him stand out so clearly. Whatever the reason, I couldn’t stop thinking about his squishy blue face from the moment we met.TiredRemy

Less than a week later my husband and I were signing the adoption papers and contemplating names.

pup

Remy’s “mug shot” – he was just 9 months old then…

1stGotchaDay8 copy

The day we adopted Remy 🙂

Of course, the past year has not been without its hurdles. Remy’s got a pretty, er, healthy chase drive and can be fearful of certain men (although goodness only knows what sort life a dog with a snake tattoo in his ear had been living). But these challenges are opportunities for us to test and strengthen our bond with our funny blue dog and I am amazed by the progress we all have made. I find myself feeling proud far more often then I feel embarrassed 🙂

IMG_0050

And I was over the moon when Remy earned his Canine Good Citizen certificate.

CGCBadge

Remy’s CGC Badge from our wonderful friend Nellie

I think it’s safe to say that no dog is entirely perfect, but Remy is most certainly the perfect dog for us.

RemyLovesIzzy2

His sweetness makes me smile every day. He does this thing when he realizes he is in “trouble” where he just stops and looks up at you with this big, goofy smile on his face. I love that. It sums up his whole personality.

Fetch!4

He doesn’t take things personally. He doesn’t dwell on the negative. When he was attacked by two off-leash dogs in our neighborhood, he didn’t become fearful of dogs. He didn’t worry when we walked by that same spot again a week later. He just went on being the happy guy he always is.

SharingAntlers1

As much as we have taught him, I know he has lessons to teach us as well.

BalboaIsland3

We are so grateful for Remy, our clever, kind, joyful blue dog. Happy First Gotcha Day, Remy; you are going to have oh so many more.

 RemyEnjoysTheView2




 

47 thoughts on “Today Is My First Gotcha Day!

  1. Remy!!!! Happy Gotcha Day pal. You sure landed in just the right place filled with so mc=ch love. It is written all over your beautiful face.
    Blessings,
    Goose

  2. Ah Remy, your human said such nice things about your first year on this post. It made us a little teary. We are so glad you got adopted and are living the great life.
    Love
    Bert and My Vickie

  3. Happy First Gotcha Day Remy and we are so pleased you are in a loving and good forever home.
    We hope you have many more pawsome days ahead. Have a wonderful Wednesday.
    Best wishes Molly

  4. Oh Remy! HAPPY HAPPY GOTCHA DAY MY FRIEND!!! I know you’re ever so happy your parents found you and adopted you and it’s obvious that they adore you so it’s a PERFECT reason to celebrate. I love that photo of you all passed out after playing with all your new Gotcha toys! Have a really special day……and I mean that from the bottom of my heart 😀

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  5. Happy Gotcha Day Remy! Look at all of the loot you got. Clearly your humans love you more than ours love us. We are going to have to have a chat with them.

    the brown dawgs

    • Oh you sweet Brown Dawgs; I know your humans love you just as much! I may get some pretty nifty toys and treats, but you all get to have those totally pawsome hunting adventures!

  6. Happy Gotcha day… I like your bear, you look great together….and your “mugshot” is the cutest one ever… I’m sooooo glad you fand a perfect furever home… have a wonderful day and enjoy all the toys, the treats and the love :o)

  7. A very Happy Gotcha day to you Remy. We are so glad you picked those great peoples of yours. You sure found a good home. We sure were glad to meet you and enjoyed your Good citizens journey. So have your self a great day.

  8. Oh Pal, I needs a kleenex nows….. that was so beautifuls! I am so very glads you and your peeps found eachother!! Butts, really, who could resist THAT face?? They would have to be dead inside!! BOL
    I have to say, I embarrass my Ma FAR MORE than I make her proud!!! hehehe BOL
    Kisses,
    Ruby

  9. Awww!! Remy, congratulations on your very first Gotcha Day!!! 😀 I loved reading all about you and your parents’ story!! Beautiful! 🙂 What a stash too!!! Enjoy all your treats, toys, and love dude!!

  10. Happy Gotcha Day Remy! I just learned so much more about him that I didn’t know already… like the snake tatoo? Really? So glad he’s able to have a much better life!

  11. Oh Nos! Me is late! Darn assistant! But me is going to sing anyway!
    Mee!!
    Meeee!!!!
    Meeeeee!!!!!!!
    *•.¸¸Happy Gottcha Day to you ♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♪♫•¸¸.•*
    ¨*•♫♪ Happy Gottcha Day to you ♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸♪♫•
    ¸¸.•*¨*•♫♪ Happy Gottcha Day Dear Remy!!!!! ♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸♪♫•
    ¸¸.•*¨*•♫♪ Happy Gottcha Day to you! ♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸♪♫•
    Kisses
    Nellie

  12. Congrats on your first gotcha day, Remy! Your mom and dad brought you home some amazing toys from the pet expo! You are such a lucky pup and it sounds like you’ve learned a lot in the last year!

  13. Happy gotcha day Remy! I don’t wonder why you’re momma couldn’t resist bringing you home. I love your statement, “I think it’s safe to say that no dog is entirely perfect, but Remy is most certainly the perfect dog for us.” I think that goes for so many dogs/people…certainly me:D

Leave a Comment

