Leader of the Pack Walk!

One of my most favorite things about my trainer, David, is that he sorts out these super fun pack walks. We usually go on at least 2 or 3 every week and they are the best!

Sometimes there are just a few pups, but on the weekends there are usually a lot!

packwalk5

 

 

I like to say “hello” to all the pups, but Travis is one of my favorites πŸ™‚

packwalk6

Hi Travis!

 

Sometimes we get coffee or breakfast or frozen yogurt after our walks. Well, the people get those treats and the pups get pup treats anyway. This is when my special mat really comes in handy. Mom and dad tell me to “park-it” and I just hang out until they say “okay.” Even when other pups stop by my mat to visit, I don’t get up!

packwalk4

This weekend poor David was not feeling well at all, so he asked me (plus mom and dad) to lead the pack walk for him! Oh my gosh, this was so exciting! It was at one of my favorite parks too πŸ™‚ Sorry these pictures are so blurry though…

packwalk9

Let’s go guys!

packwalk8

We got a lot of responsibility now! Should you really be taking pictures, Dad?

packwalk12

Better make sure no pups get left behind!

packwalk10

It can be Really hard to pay attention to mom on a pack walk, but I try my very best πŸ™‚

We had lots of fun, even though it was a little quieter without David around. And everyone stayed together and got around the whole walk safely. I think I should get some extra treats for being such a good guide, don’t you agree?

After all the exercise and excitement, I am usually ready for a nice long nap πŸ™‚

packwalk7

Do you ever go on super fun walks with your buddies?

39 thoughts on “Leader of the Pack Walk!

  1. Look at you strutting your stuff! Pack walks sound like a blast. The weather here in Chicago is beautiful and we just got back from a walk in the park. Can’t be beat!

  2. That is one EXHAUSTED pack-walking-doggie!! Gorgeous. Mom wants to know the secret to The Mat. How did they teach you to Park It?? I see a mat in my future, and I am NOT happy about it.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • No no, Cupcake, the mat is great! It means treats and relaxation πŸ™‚

      Mom started by rewarding me for just touching the mat with one or two paws. Then all four. Then sitting. Then lying down. And then she added distractions and new places πŸ™‚

      And she would always put the treats on the may while I was learning, so I would really associate the mat with good things. I think I will write a post about this soon!

  3. No pack walks around here that I know of. Usually what happens is if someone else has a full-blooded cattle dog or a half-breed like Blueberry, us humans will strike up a conversation and we’ll walk the dogs together for a little while and talk “cattle dogs”. I find that most of the group activities that are outdoorsy exclude dogs – at least in my area. It’s very disappointing.

    Glad you had fun – you did a fine job leading everyone!

    • Aw, my kitties don’t get to go for walks either. But they do get smellier, tastier food and can jump onto really high places, so I guess it’s fair πŸ™‚

  4. OMD! Remy you and your peeps are FABulous pack leaders!! I am really impressed with your leadership skills dude! And with your attention to your Moms…you are such a great example for the rest of the pack.
    And, YES, you should gets extra treaties for your FABulous work Remy. I thinks maybe some Frosty Paws, too! Just sayin’…
    Kisses,
    Ruby

  5. We play off leash with our buddies every morning but we don’t go on long walks. it looked like fun and a great idea. you did a fantastic job leading and you are obviously very good about staying on your mat. A good example which what a leader should be πŸ˜‰

  6. That looks like a lot of fun! I am more comfortable going for walks where I am alone but that’s because I didn’t get the right socializing when I was a puppy.

    …Whisky

  7. Looks like a swell walk Remy. Glad you had so much fun. I am lucky I meet up with my crew everyday and we terrorise me territories. Have a wonderful Wednesday.
    Best wishes Molly

  8. Remy you look like you and all your friends had a most wonderful walk together with YOU leading the whole pack! Wow…it’s a big responsibility but you look like you made it work my friend. What a good boy you are on your special mat too – waiting for the word before getting up and moving about. I know your Mom and Dad were proud of you….just like we are!! πŸ˜€

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  9. That looks like so much fun! A dog pack has recently formed in my town, but it’s not that big yet. Six dogs was the most we’ve had so far. But it will get bigger now that spring is finally here.

Leave a Comment

