We Have a Plan!

Last Thursday mom took me to see a special new veterinarian. All of the animals this veterinarian sees have trouble with pain and moving around and she has lots of cool ways to help them feel better. There were a lot of new things to smell in her office. Actually, it didn’t look like an office at all. There were giant funny shaped balls and a little ramp thing that mom said was a treadmill and even a gigantic tank that had a very interesting smell! Mom told me that this tank is a treadmill too, but it fills up with water!

Mom and the special veterinarian (Dr. G) talked for a very, very, very long time while I took a nap on this extra comfy bed. Then Dr. G gave me a special check up. She moved all my legs around and felt my back a lot and even measured me all over! When we were done she told mom she wished all of her patients were like me and mom nearly exploded feeling proud of me πŸ™‚

Remy-at-the-vet

Give it to me straight, Doc

So the good things are that Dr. G is pretty much sure the ligament tears are only partial and the left one is really not bad at all. Also, she says it feels and sounds like my mini-skis are not torn. If they get torn then I really will need surgeries. And Dr. G thinks there is a good chance that the physical therapies will help me feel better.

The not so good things are that Dr. G says my fetch playing days are over, unless I am playing in water. And I have arthritis in both of my knees and my right hip joint already. *Sigh* I am not even 2 years old! So for this I am taking a supplement called Dasuquin and getting special injections called Adequan. Mom says she has been using Adequan in horses since she was a kid. It was the first shot she ever gave when she was just 13 years old!

This Thursday we are going back to Dr. G so I can start my physical therapies twice every week, which will mostly be some water treadmilling and maybe some cold lasers if I am painful. I am not sure how I will feel about the gigantic tank when it’s got water in it, but mom promises there will be some delicious treats involved πŸ™‚

Also, mom has to do some special stretches on both of my back legs 3 times a day. She calls them range of motion and pro-pree-o-sep-shun exercises…whatever that means?

And Dr. G said it is okay for me to go on some car rides! So this weekend mom and dad took me to see the ocean! I even get to take a few 5-10 minute walks every day now πŸ˜€ Mom made me wear the face jail (aka Gentle Leader) at the ocean because she was worried I might be too excited, but I didn’t even mind.

Remy-at-the-ocean

Can you smell it, mom?? The saltiness? It’s delicious πŸ™‚

And at home I have had a really good napping buddy to keep me company while I’m resting…

Remys-naptime-buddy

Hey Linus, could you scratch that spot on my back? Thanks buddy πŸ™‚

Mom is hoping to get some pictures of me in the physical therapies, but she’s not sure if she will be able to since it is my first trip and I might take some time getting used to it. I will try to be brave! Wish me luck and go play some fetch for me too, okay? πŸ˜‰

Β 

62 thoughts on “We Have a Plan!

  1. OK, so I havn’;t been around for a while, and this really shook me up, that you are in so much pain. I am so sorry my little friend. But “By Golly” you get to stand in water. “Water: I don’t know about you but just the word “Water” makes me feel better all over.
    I sure do hope you get lots of pictures for us to see. And I am sorry about the Not playing ball anywhere but in the pool, but “POOL” playing ball or chase in the “POOL”…..thats another word for “WATER”
    Love
    Bert

    • Not to worry, buddy; I am not too painful πŸ™‚ We pittie types are usually pretty tough when it comes to that at least. Right now it is mostly about stopping things from getting worse, I think. If the water ends up being scary, maybe you can go to my therapies for me? πŸ˜‰

  2. Oh Remy, that is so exciting that you are making some progress. And we are so proud of you for being such a good girl .Well done. I bet you will like that water thing. Take care.

  3. Mom played fetch with me today. I really don’t understand that game at all. I think you are lucky not playing it. I know that your therapies will turn out to be fun and will make you feel active and strong again. I will think happy, prayerful thoughts for you and send some good mojo your way. xoxo

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • I like fetch because it feels like chasing little running creatures πŸ™‚ And I like the way it feels to run very fast…

      Thank you for the prayers and good mojos, Cupcake! I can definitely use them!

  4. Oh Remy, I’m SO glads that this special vettie has such a FABulous soundin’ plan for you!! Now, I’m not a fan of the waters, butts if it’s the only way to run and gets to run, then YEAH, I’m all for it! Sounds kinda funs Remy!
    I’ll catch some bubbles for you pal!
    Keep us posted
    Kisses,
    Ruby

  5. So sorry you have arthritis at such a young age. Zac went through the same but we couldn’t find anywhere with facilities for the therapy your talking about. I’m sure it will help you. It sounds like you’re in great hands.

  6. Aww Remy, you poor baby! Titan takes Dasuquin daily and it helps him bunches. I highly recommend getting the soft chews with MSM if you don’t like the tablets. It’s almost like getting a morning treat! I hope you get better soon sweetie!

    • I’m glad to hear the Dasuquin is helping Titan feel good! Mom got me the soft chews, but they might have made me puke. Something did anyway… Mom is going to start again, but give them with more food. I am keeping my paws crossed πŸ™‚

      • Oh no! Sorry you got sick baby! Titan has been taking them for 2 years. We started with tablets but I had to hide them in his food :/ Until I found the soft chews. I hope it was something other than the Dasuquin that made you sick. Did you take 1 or 2?

  7. That’s okay πŸ™‚ Mom gave me two for the loading dose, but now she’s going to start with just a half and work up. She did some research and found out it can cause upset tummies sometimes, especially if pups eat it without food…

  8. “Face jail” I love it! You are a brave and stoic pup – glad to see you are getting the best care and will hopefully be feeling better soon. You’re going to do great at rehab!

    • I hope I will like it! I did a good job of being curious and not afraid of all the funny equipment last Thursday, so hopefully I will feel brave again πŸ™‚

  9. Good luck – but you probably won’t need it since you’ll be fine! πŸ™‚ Me and my dog hope you get better soon! Remy is sooo cute and he’ll definitely do well in the physical therapy. You’re in our thoughts, Remy!

  10. Remy you are going to be better in no time with all those special treatments and medicines! I just had to laugh at “face jail” I’ve never heard that one before lol… Sorry you can’t play fetch anymore 😦 but I’m sure there are some other fun games your mom can find for you to play!

  11. Oh gosh Remy – I’m so sorry you’re going to have to go through so much stuff but the special vet lady sounds really nice and some of those things might turn out to really feel VERY good even the water tank….especially if treats are involved. And Your Mom will be right there with you all the time…….Meanwhile, you can take some nice naps with Linus and just kind of take it easy and hang out. Everything will be just FINE Remy, you wait and see!

    p.s. we love your monkey sweater that you wore to the beach!
    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

    • I bet you’re right that the water will feel nice πŸ™‚ Thank you for all your sweet kitty thoughts, Sammy! And that monkey sweater is my most favorite one…it was very chilly out for a June afternoon!

  12. Thanks for the update, Remy. We’re so glad your mini-skis are OK! As for the rest, we’re sure that you will get used to whatever comes your way. We woofies are very versatile! #1 says that seawater is one of the greatest healers around so we hope you get to romp a bit in the ocean on a regular basis.

    It sound s like Dr. G is great and we look forward to hearing more about your treatments. And it’s so good you have Linus there to take care of you!

    Woofs,
    Tommy

    • No problem, Tommy! Thanks for checking in on me πŸ™‚ I think #1 is right about the seawater; mom says it’s good for horses so it must be good for pups too! And I am awfully lucky we are so near the ocean and so many dog friendly beaches!

  13. Remy, I hope you will feel better soon. I’ve heard about a Weimaraner- grampy that the aqua-therapy was very very helpful to heal and ease his arthritis. I hope it will work for you too.

  14. May be your mummy can get you doing fun games while swimming in water,Mummy said swimming is good exercise with out putting stress on the body so enjoy your new therapy Remy and feel better soon,xx Speedy

  15. I’m so sorry to hear you have arthritis already but it sounds like you have a very good vet and a VERY helpful, loving mommy! I’m sure between the two of them, they’ll help you feel better soon.

  16. I get to do the water treadmill and I LOVE it s much. Mom has to post more about it, but it helps a lot bi have painful hippers πŸ™‚

    Bart

  17. I hope the therapy helps. It’s so lovely when our bipeds are proud of us and you deserve it for being so patient!
    The picture of you with the cat is really sweet.

Leave a Comment

